At the start of 2013 I set out to complete ten adventurous endurance challenges across multiple disciplines that would push me to, and beyond, my physical limits. Why? To raise at least £2000 for the Association of International Cancer Research (AICR) whilst embracing the spirit of adventure!

So far I’ve managed to successfully complete three of the challenges. Firstly, my friend Liam and I climbed the height of Everest in a tower block (involving over 17 hours of stair climbing!)…

Secondly, I cycled 150 miles in 48 hours from Sheffield to my mum’s house in south Wales. And thirdly, my girlfriend Amy and I spent a week walking 150 miles across Ireland

By now, I’d also hoped to have completed my mock Ironman event involving cycling 112 miles, swimming 2.4 miles and running the London Marathon over three consecutive days. Unfortunately I had to postpose this due to a torn knee ligament which put me out of action for a couple of months. However I aim to undertake this challenge in April 2014.

I also had to abandon my attempt to complete the Welsh 3000s Challenge due to dangerous weather conditions.  An unrelenting torrential deluge and 80 mph winds meant it just wasn’t feasible to tackle the knife-edge ridges of Snowdonia. So, although climbing Snowdon at night in those weather conditions was an achievement in itself, I still hope to complete the Welsh 3000s Challenge in 2014.

But now, with the cricket season drawing to a close (and my weekends soon to be free once again), I’m planning to get busy completing a few more challenges.

On 7th September, I’ll be tacking on Tough Mudder. Described as “probably the toughest event on the planet” it’s a “hardcore 12 mile-long obstacle course designed by the Special Forces to test your all around strength, stamina, mental grit, and camaraderie”. The various obstacles will involve (amongst other things) mud, fire, ice-water, and 10,000 volts of electricity! Here’s a sneak peek of what I’ll be taking on…

Later in September I’m also planning to kayak over 60 miles from Sheffield to the sea (or at least until the Humber estuary). This will be my first ever long distance kayak journey (first kayak journey of any sorts for that matter!).

Then, later in the year, I’ll be walking in my great-grandfather’s footsteps as I retrace the 80-mile walk from Manchester to Birmingham he undertook to find work. I’ll also be undertaking another long distance cycle ride – this time over 150 miles coast to coast across England.

2014 will then see me kayak coast to coast across Scotland and try again in my attempts to complete the mock Ironman and Welsh 3000s Challenge. All in all, I hope to complete all ten challenges within 18 months.

Please visit my JustGiving page here if you feel my efforts are worthy of a donation to a fantastic cause – and to help make all the pain worthwhile!

PS I originally intended for two of my challenges to be climbing Germany’s highest mountain and recreating Team GB’s ten finest moments. However I’ve substituted these for the Tough Mudder and coast to coast cycle ride as I can’t afford a trip to Germany and realised the Team GB one was only a challenge of my video making skills, and isn’t actually an endurance challenge. 

PPS Special thanks to my good friend Ollie Kilvert at GoOutdoors for securing me a Tough Mudder spot as part of Team Go. Can’t wait to get stuck in!

About Jon Maiden

Founder of Goalvanise which enables people to create their Life List online, and inspires and supports them to achieve their life goals. Check out the Goalvanise blog here or my personal blog here.

One response »

  1. Lauren Rains says:

    I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again. You’re the man Jon 🙂

Comment on this post...

