Climbing Everest on stairs

This barmy idea was the first of my 10 Challenges 4 Cancer – these are ten adventurous endurance challenges I’m undertaking in 2013 to raise at least £2000 for the Association of International Cancer Research (AICR).

This challenge was intended to push me to, and probably beyond, my physical and psychological limits. Our 8848m stair climb would involve 79 ascents of Yorkshire’s tallest building, Bridgewater Place, and a total of over 41,000 stairs! Just to make it a little more difficult we gave ourselves only 24 hours in which to complete the challenge.

Watch this short video to see whether we managed to complete it…

[youtube http://youtu.be/ZAwMW4bWV_4]

_MG_7589-001

So after 17 long hours on the stairs (and a short break to sleep) we made it!

I would like to thank Liam Garcia of the Long Well Walk for joining me on the climb. Without his company, I’m not sure I’d have stayed sane! In 2014, Liam will be walking from Sheffield to Cape Town to raise money for water sanitation projects across Africa.

Find out more about my 10 Challenges 4 Cancer, or make a donation to cancer research, here. Also watch this space for details of my next challenges…

Thanks to Francesca Limb Photography for the imagery.

About Jon Maiden

Founder of Goalvanise which enables people to create their Life List online, and inspires and supports them to achieve their life goals. Check out the Goalvanise blog here or my personal blog here.

One response »

  1. Luke Grose says:

    Fantastic Jon. I love this challenge. All the best for your next energy sapping endeavour.

Comment on this post...

