My photo a day challenge has come to an end and I’m filled with mixed emotion. Sad that this special project has finished. Relieved of burden of finding something original to photograph every day. But immensely satisfied that I now have a collection of 366 treasured photos taken each day over possibly the best year of my life.

The project has undoubtedly helped me become more creative with photography, document my life in a unique way, be more active and explore new places, and to see the world in a different way, seeing beauty in the most ordinary of things.

To celebrate the completion of this challenge I’ve made a short 4 minute video collating these photos into some sort of order. I hope you enjoy!

(The song is just one I love, and fits well to the tempo, but the lyrics are not meant to be relevant – you’ll see why!)

I do hope that this may inspire you to complete your own photo a day project. I promise you won’t regret the decision to start…

Click on the links below to view each month of my photo a day challenge…
Month 12Month 11Month 10Month 9Month 8Month 7Month 6Month 5Month 4Month 3Month 2Month 1

About Jon Maiden

Founder of Goalvanise which enables people to create their Life List online, and inspires and supports them to achieve their life goals. Check out the Goalvanise blog here or my personal blog here.

12 responses »

  1. Annette says:

    AMAZING & powerful video! It is so cool to be able to see a year of your life in just four minutes. Great idea!

    • Jon Maiden says:

      Thanks Annette. Yes, it really is a great way to remember the year. Can’t recommend the challenge highly enough although it does take a commitment of time and energy. Well worth it though. Perhaps one to add to your bucket list?

  2. Gav says:

    What software did you use to make the video?

  3. Anonymous says:

    I’m interested in creating videos and things like that, and in the past used camtasia on my pc, but think a Mac is the way forward from the sounds of things! Is it free with the Mac?

    • Jon Maiden says:

      Yes iMovie should come free with a Mac. I managed to make decent movies with Windows Movie Maker before I bought my Mac but it certainly is much easier and enjoyable now. You uploaded any of your videos online?

  4. naven says:

    Amazing stuff Jon< and glad to be apart of it too 🙂

    • Jon Maiden says:

      Cheers Nav. Thanks for checking out the video. And glad you noticed your own entry! Quality picture that one. Strongly recommend the project if you fancy a challenge. Plenty to snap in South Africa with all those lions in your back garden and all!

  5. Elle says:

    I love the video Jon! Thanks so much for sending me the link!

  6. Bad Wabbit says:

    Ace video and great way to share photos. Wanted to do the same for my tube running project – some 300+ photos (I’m a PC person sadly despite iphone / … oh wait I have an ipad – does this have iMovie?)

    • Jon Maiden says:

      Hi Mr Wabbit… or can I call you Bad?!

      Yes, I loved this project and it is a great way of sharing photos – as well as making you more active and explore more etc. The first few videos I made on my microadventures were using Windows Movie Maker – it’s slow and basic but does a job. iMovie is undoubtedly better but not a must for amateur videos. I really enjoy making these short videos though so for me the only must is just getting on and making them. Looking forward to making one for each of my 10 Challenges 4 Cancer this year…

      Thanks for checking out the video. You got any videos of your own I can check out?

      Jon

Comment on this post...

