I cannot sing. I mean, I really cannot sing. As those who have had the great misfortune of hearing me do karaoke will testify, I have the ability to clear a room before I’ve even reached the chorus. But, as seemingly anyone can become a singer these days, I thought I’d take up the chance to put my non-existant vocal talent to the test as a backing ‘singer’ in the music video of a real, globe-trotting rock band.

The song was to be ‘Whole Wide World‘ performed by The Crookes (a cover of the song originally written by Wreckless Eric). The brief from The Crookes: we need loads of people to sing and shout as though they are a drunken rabble. That I can do, I thought, and so went along to their rehearsal studio one miserably wet, summers afternoon. We were greeted at the door by the four Crookes lads thrusting bottles of spirits at us. “Drink!” we were ordered. An hour, three bottles of beer and an immeasurable number of shots later and we stumbled into position to assume our role as the, now literal, drunken rabble.

So without further ado, here is the official launch of my singing career (many thanks to The Crookes and other backing singers for providing sufficient musical talent, and volume, to drown out my voice!). Listen out for shouts of ‘Whoa’, ‘Yeah’ or ‘Tahiti’ in the background as that may well be croaky voice of yours truly (and look out for a great shot at 2:05 of me giving it my everything!)…

If you’re not familiar with The Crookes, you should be! They’re a fantastic indie pop band on the cusp of big things. The band’s style has been described as a fusion of ‘heartbreaking melodies’ inspired by 1950s and 60s pop-music. Since being signed, they’ve released two albums “Chasing After Ghosts” (2011) and “Hold Fast” (2012). And what’s more, they’re really great guys… but being from Sheffield you’d expect nothing less! Rubbish at football though 😉

The Crookes gig in rehearsal studio in Sheffield

The Crookes playing a short acoustic gig in their rehearsal studio in Sheffield

After we’d finished recording the song we were treated to an impromptu acoustic gig by lads – a wonderful and unique moment in itself. The whole afternoon/evening was one surreal yet brilliantly memorable experience. I’d not added ‘sing in a music video’ to my life list, mainly because I never thought it would be possible. But it’s certainly a life goal I can recommend to anyone should the opportunity ever arise.

With regards to the future of my singing career… I hear Queen are on the look out for a lead vocalist. “Freddie who?” they’ll soon be saying…

About Jon Maiden

Founder of Goalvanise which enables people to create their Life List online, and inspires and supports them to achieve their life goals. Check out the Goalvanise blog here or my personal blog here.

Comment on this post...

