Hitching4Cancer: Hitching to the Arctic Circle

Publicity shot for the Sheffield Star (article to be published Mon 18th June)

Less than two days until I set off now, and I’ve finally researched the route I’ll be taking. Fair to say, it’s going to be challenging! Some days the driving will take up to 8 hours alone, irrespective of the amount of time I’ll spend walking to suitable hitching spots and waiting for lifts. On the plus side, my route will undoubtedly take me through some fantastic cities and along some of the world’s most scenic roads.

So here’s my planned route to the Arctic Circle:

Sun 17: Sheffield – Calais (281 miles)

Mon 18: Calais – Munster (300 miles)

Tue 19: Munster – Flensburg (260 miles)

Wed 20: Flensburg – Gottenburg (360 miles)

Thu 21: Gottenburg – Oslo (200 miles)

Fri 22: Oslo – Trondheim (310 miles)

Sat 23: Trondheim – Stodi (350 miles)

Route to the Arctic Circle from the UK

A map of my route to the Arctic Circle

2000 miles in 7 days. What do you think? Realistic? Crazy? Too easy?! Whatever it turns out to be, I’m sure it will be an experience I’ll never forget and I can’t wait to get on the road.

If you haven’t already, please do make a small donation to the Association for International Cancer Research. It’s a wonderful charity carrying pioneering, life changing work. But they do need our support. Please, please, please make a donation now via my friend Chris’ JustGiving page.

For more information on my charity hitchhike click here.

Thanks for your support and I look forward to updating you on my progress!

About Jon Maiden

Founder of Goalvanise which enables people to create their Life List online, and inspires and supports them to achieve their life goals. Check out the Goalvanise blog here or my personal blog here.

3 responses »

  1. Tim Shey says:

    2000 miles in 7 days? It’s possible. I once hitchhiked from Billings, Montana to Washington, DC in 7 days and it is roughly 2000 miles. Have a safe trip.

  2. Gavin Lavill says:

    Good luck jon, have a safe journey!

Comment on this post...

